Press "Enter" to skip to content

Rep. Wheeler recognized for work on behalf of Illinoisans with disabilities, special needs

For the second consecutive year, state Rep. Keith Wheeler, R-Oswego, has received the Excellence in Advocacy Award from Marklund in recognition of his efforts on behalf of individuals and families of all ages with developmental disabilities and special health care needs.

The award was presented Aug. 12, by Marklund President & CEO Gilbert Fonger.

“I am tremendously honored to receive this award from the incredible team at Marklund for a second time,” Wheeler said in statement. “As a community, we are immensely grateful for the work done by the staff at Marklund supporting the developmentally disabled and their families. It is truly a privilege for me to work alongside Gil Fonger and his team to advocate for Marklund’s needs in Springfield.”

Marklund’s Gil Fonger explained why the organization recognized Wheeler again this year: “We at Marklund know that we can count on Keith Wheeler to support the needs of individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities each and every day. Keith is a tireless champion in the General Assembly for the individuals we serve. He has shown tremendous care and compassion for our most vulnerable residents and clients. We are fortunate to call Keith a friend and an advocate. For all his efforts, representative Wheeler has earned our Excellence in Advocacy Award a second straight year.”

Marklund is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that serves infants, children, teens and adults with serious and profound developmental disabilities and special health care needs at three residential locations: the Marklund Hyde Center in Geneva, the Marklund Philip Center in Bloomingdale and the Marklund Wasmond Center in Elgin. More than 500 staff members and thousands of volunteers support the needs of the residents and community clients at provided at all of Marklund’s facilities.

Wheeler serves the 50th District, which includes portions of Aurora, Batavia, Geneva, Campton Hills, Elburn, Montgomery, Oswego, Plano, St. Charles, Sugar Grove and Yorkville.

Source: The Daily Chronicle

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    %d bloggers like this: