Press "Enter" to skip to content

Eight District 99 students named National Merit finalists

DOWNERS GROVE – Eight Community High School District 99 students have been named finalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program, an academic competition for recognition and scholarships sponsored by the National Merit Scholarship Corp.

The program recognizes high school seniors who have excelled in academics and have the potential to succeed in rigorous college studies.

The District 99 2021 National Merit Finalists are:

Downers Grove South: Luc Alvarez, Dyanna Boone, Jacob Poeschel, Christopher Sapinski and Jonah Sprandel.

Downers Grove North: Justin Berghorst, Carissa Blumka and Madeline Naisbitt.

“Congratulations to Justin, Carissa and Madeline on this outstanding recognition,” North High Principal Janice Schwarze said. “Being named a National Merit Scholar is a testament to their hard work and commitment to learning; I know they have a bright future.”

“These five students are leaders at South High in more ways than just academic excellence,” South High Principal Ed Schwartz said. “Earning this elite honor is truly remarkable Congratulations to Luc, Dyanna, Jacob, Christopher and Jonah.”

Approximately 1.5 million juniors in more than 21,000 high schools entered the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. District 99 students will join approximately 16,000 seniors from across the country, representing the top 1%, and will compete for 7,500 NMSP scholarships totaling more than $30 million.

Source: The Daily Chronicle

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply